The Singing Buckeyes Chorus -- 50th Anniversary CD

In 2000, The Singing Buckeyes, 11 time Johnny Appleseed District Champions and 15 time International competitor recorded this CD to commemorate their 50 years of choral excellence in the Columbus, Ohio area.

Under the direction of Dr. Richard D. Mathey, Director Emeritus, Bowling Green State University Men's Chorus, the Singing Buckeyes not only have established themselves as the premier men's a cappella singing organization in Columbus, they have also stretched their recognition to an International level. Their inaugural Harmony Tour of St. Petersburg, Russia in 1999 was a huge success.

This recording features songs from that tour as well as selections from their 2000 spring show. Also, highlights include solos by SPEBSQSA International Past President, Chuck Watson, and DR. Mathey. In additional several of the chapter quartets are featured, including 2000 District Champions, Park Avenue, 2001 District Silver Medalists, Impulse, and 2001 District Bronze Medalists, On Q.

Track Listing

Click Titles for Sound Byte

  • Love Eyes Medley - Chorus
  • Mood Indigo - Chorus
  • So High, So Low - Quartet: The Old Hats
  • Basin Street Blues - Chorus: Clarinet Solo/Don Seelbach
  • Just A Closer Walk With Thee - Chorus: Solo/Chuck Watson
  • Turn Your Radio On - Quartet: Quite By Accident
  • How Deep is the Ocean - Chorus
  • Let the Rest of the World Go By - Quartet: 2BAD4U
  • Mississippi Mud - Chorus
  • Let's Get Away From It All - Quartet: Impulse
  • Blue World - Chorus
  • Similin' Through - Quartet: On Q
  • Happy Go Lucky Lane - Quartet: On Q
  • Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans - Chorus: Solo/Jim Ruisinger
  • Wedding Bells Are Breaking Up That Old Gang of Mine - Quartet: Park Avenue
  • You're Nobody 'til Somebody Loves You - Quartet: Park Avenue
  • Ave Maria - Chorus: Solo/Michael Byrley & Robert McGuire
  • Amen - Chorus: Solo/Richard D. Mathey


    Back To Store